Prima Recipes
Recipes |  Recipe Books (by Ingredient) |  Recipe Books (by Cuisine) |  Recipe Software |  Cooking Resources

Search Recipes

Recipe Organizer Deluxe
Windows software for recipe enthusiasts: Recipe Organizer Deluxe
Recipe Books
Find your favorite recipe books: 
  • Recipe books by ingredient
  • Recipe books by cuisine

    Web Resources
    Check our selection of great recipe and cooking sites on the Web: PrimaRecipe's Web Selection

    Cooking Books -> Soups

    Once upon a Tart: Soups, Salads, Muffins and More

    Mentesana, Frank
    Audureau, Jerome
    Carreno, Carolyn
    Carreno, Carolynn (Contributor)

    Published: April 22, 2003
    ISBN: 0375413162

       Read More, Buy It

    Book Description
    Once Upon a Tart offers 225 recipes from the eponymous Manhattan shop, which, in addition to sweet and savory tarts, prepares delicious soups, salads, and muffins. Both book and shop are the work of business partners Frank Mentesana and Jerome Audureau, whose Soho store has flourished for almost a decade, providing notable quality while expanding tart-consciousness. Among the tart recipes, particularly winning are the Zucchini Tart with Curried Custard and Dried Currants; Roasted Ratatouille Tart with Herbes de Provence; Chocolate Pear Tart; and Jerome's Mother's Famous Almond Tart, a melt-in-your mouth confection. Equally good are the recipes for sandwiches, such as pork loin with frisée and rosemary-garlic aïoli; soups, including black-bean-and-pumpkin with cinnamon and ginger; scones, like honey caramel; and quick breads and cookies, such as Apple-Cranberry Muffins and Rosie's Peanut Butter Cookies.

    What makes the book especially worthy is its instructive approach. The recipes themselves contain useful technical guideposts (the authors zero-in on desirable unbaked dough texture--"just past crumbly, but still holding together"), and there are many illuminative asides, both personal and to-the-point ("'Each variation on an ingredient changes the taste and texture of the cookie,' says Frank--this kind of thing excites him," is one). With its attention to the personal, the book is also something of an autobiography à deux, and readers will enjoy getting to know the authors, one very French, one solidly American. Illustrated with color photos, and with useful notes on equipment and fundamental processes, such as How to Deal with Eggplant, the book should please bakers at all skill levels. --Arthur Boehm

    From Publishers Weekly
    Once Upon a Tart, a charming cafe in New York's SoHo, was founded by two refugees from hotel management intent on a dream. Audureau, who ran a tarterie in Avignon, France, his home town, saw that New York had not discovered this French lunch delight the savory tart, with its accoutrements of salads and the finish of a sweet. Jersey-born Mentesana learned to cook from his Italian grandmother. The cafe chefs add unusual twists to traditional recipes for example Zucchini Tart with Curried Custard... read more

    Book Description
    A cookbook in the tradition of The Silver Palate and The Barefoot Contessa . . .

    In New York City, famous for its food and restaurants, locals are reverential about the bakeshop and café Once Upon a Tart. For more than a decade, they have been lining up at the store mornings and afternoons, waiting patiently for their signature scones, muffins, soups, salads, sandwiches, cookies, and-of course-tarts. And pretty much since the day the café opened, patrons have been asking-sometimes begging-the proprietors for their sweet and savory recipes. Good news: the wait is over.

    In Once Upon a Tart, the café's founders and co-owners, Jerome Audureau (a New Yorker via France) and Frank Mentesana (a New Yorker via New Jersey), go public with their culinary secrets ("We don't have any," says Frank. "That's our biggest secret of all") and recipes. They also tell their inspiring success story, from selling tarts wholesale out of a warehouse in Long Island City to opening their now-famous outpost in Soho.

    In nine delicious chapters ranging from savory tarts to cookies, the authors instruct and advise home cooks on everything from how to make the flakiest tart crust ("keep the dough cold") to making sandwiches ("condiments are key") to how to diet ("you want half the calories, eat half the scone"). Once Upon a Tart is packed with more than 225 easy-to-prepare recipes, including all the store classics that have earned Frank and Jerome the devotion of their customers: Caramelized-Leek-and-Celery Tart, Creamy Carrot Soup with Fresh Dill, Pork Loin Sandwich with Frisée and Rosemary-Garlic Aioli, Buttermilk Scones with Dried Currants, Banana-Poppy Seed Muffins, and Strawberry-Rhubarb Tart with Crisp Topping.

    Says Frank, "We believe that deep down, everyone is a cook." Adds

      Read More, Buy It

    PrimaRecipes || Submit Recipe || Submit Resource || Copyright Policy

    Copyright © 2004 PrimaSoft PC Inc. All rights reserved.